Fiesta Breakfast Casserole

Image

Lately co-workers are dropping like flies..well it comes in waves and we are in the middle of one. However, with each person leaving the company we celebrate in the best way we know how, potlucks. I have a love hate relationship with potlucks. I love eating but I hate the nature of pot lucks. First off, I hate the hodge podge of food. I don’t want lasagna with egg rolls, and hot dogs. Plus it mostly has gone from homemade food to pre-packaged and call me old fashion but I hate attending a potluck where everything is store bought. However, I realize not everyone can slave away in the kitchen for my eating enjoyment.

 I decided to bring a breakfast casserole to our breakfast themed potluck. The only deciding factor for branching out in the breakfast casserole scene was I had all the ingredients. I have a bad habit of buying eggs and not using them so this was also the perfect opportunity to use my eggs before they expired.

 The Pro’s: This meal is easy to make, has great flavor and makes a lot which is great for a potluck.

 The Con’s: In my efforts to cut down on processed foods I substituted hash browns for sliced potatoes which proved to be more time consuming but that didn’t really bother me.

Overall: The breakfast casserole was a hit! My co-workers raved how good it tasted and it was so easy to make it will probably be my “go-to” for breakfast potlucks! It you have a morning event coming up this is definitely worth making!

ImageImage

This recipe was adapted from Nesting Project

Fiesta Breakfast Casserole
 
Ingredients 
8 large eggs
3 large potatoes sliced like hash browns 
1 cup sliced peppers (I used a mixture of green and red)
1 clove minced garlic
1/4 cup of diced onion
1 tsp cumin
2 tsp kosher salt (1/2 tsp regular salt))
1 tsp red pepper
1 tsp black pepper
1 cup cheddar cheese
 
Directions:
In a 8×8 glass buttered dish layer potatoes then the peppers. Whisk the eggs in a separate bowl and add salt, both peppers, cumin and garlic. Pour over the potatoes and peppers and sprinkle cheddar on top. Cover with saran wrap and put in the refrigerator (you can make the morning of if you want). The next morning take out the casserole and place in a 375 degree oven for 40 – 45 minutes until cooked through.

 

One thought on “Fiesta Breakfast Casserole

Leave a Reply

