Alice Spring Chicken with Garlic Shell Pasta and Broiled Frozen Corn:

A few weeks ago I got inspired to cook. I made a full three course meal which I hardly ever do.  However, at work my co-workers and I are obsessed with pinterest  and as I ferociously began pinning away various meals I had to make this little meal came together/ As a side note I probably should have taken a picture of Chad’s meal since I don’t really like corn. lol.

three course meal

 

 Let me break down each part of the meal

 Alice Spring Chicken:

 Does this sound familiar? It might. Apparently the Alice Spring Chicken is on the menu at Outback Steakhouse. The chicken is drenched in honey mustard, cheese, bacon and mushrooms (which I elected not to add to our meal). I thought the meal sound promising and I even bought chicken breasts since I knew it’d be a hit in our house.

 The Positive: Anything with bacon (well turkey bacon for me) and cheese is a proven success in my house, the flavor is good, I’d like to think it’s healthier then the Outback Version.

 The Negative: It’s time consuming to make since you have to make the bacon first. While I think it’s healthier than the outback version it’s still probably unhealthy given the fact it’s cheesy and has bacon on it.

 Overall: If eating healthy isn’t a big deal to you then you should make this meal.

alice spring chicken

Recipe: 

  • 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts, pounded to 1/2 inch thickness 
  • Lowry’s Seasoning Salt
  • 6 bacon slices
  • 1/4 cup regular mustard
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 2 Tbsp. greek yogurt
  • 2 teaspoons dried onion powder
  • 2 cup shredded Colby/Jack cheese
Ingredients: 
  1.  First, Sprinkle and rub the chicken breasts with seasoning salt.  Cover and refrigerate for 30 minutes.
  2. While the chicken is in the refrigerator, cook bacon in a large skillet until crisp.  Remove bacon and set aside.  ***Do not discard grease.***
  3. Saute chicken in the bacon grease for 3 to 5 minutes per side, or until browned.  Place chicken in a 9″ × 13″ casserole dish or pan.
  4. To make the Honey Mustard:  In a small bowl, mix the mustard, honey, mayonnaise and dried onion flakes.  
  5. Spread some of the Honey Mustard over each piece of chicken, then layer with mushrooms, crumbled bacon, and shredded cheese.
  6. Bake in a 350° oven for 30 minutes, or until cheese is melted and chicken is done.
  7. Serve with the left over Honey Mustard Sauce that you made.

To see the recipe in its original format please visit Fabulously Creative

 Garlic Shell pasta:

 So do you ever buy those packages of pasta in the bags I believe pasta-o-roni  or lipton is the brand that sells them? They have crazy flavors like chicken flavored noodles, alfredo (ok not crazy flavors), garlic and shells, Parmesan and olive oil and so on. They taste good but I hate that I eat them. I’m sure there are tons of ingredients in them that are bad for me. When I saw a recipe that is supposed to be a copy cat of the noodles in a bag I knew I needed to try them.

 The positive: You know exactly what ingredients are going into the pasta and they heated up as a left over pretty good.

 The Negative: The shells lacked flavor and Chad asked I never make them again.

 Overall: The shells needs something more to give it flavor. What that ingredient is, I have no clue! I guess I’ll never find out either since it’s been banned from my house lol.

Ingredients: 

  • 8oz mini shells pasta
  • 1 Tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 Tablespoon butter
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 Tablespoons flour
  • 3/4 cup chicken broth
  • 3/4 cup milk (I used skim)
  • salt & pepper
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder (not garlic salt)
  • 2 teaspoons parsley flakes

Directions: 

  1. Cook pasta in a pot of salted, boiling water until al dente. Drain then set aside. Let pot cool off the heat for several minutes.
  2. Return pot to stove over medium heat then melt butter in olive oil. Add garlic then saute until golden brown, about 30 seconds, being very careful not to burn. Sprinkle in flour then whisk and cook for 1 minute. Slowly pour in chicken broth and milk while whisking until mixture is smooth. Season with salt & pepper then switch to a wooden spoon and stir constantly until mixture is thick and bubbly, about 4-5 minutes.
  3. Take pot off the heat then stir in Parmesan cheese, garlic powder, and parsley flakes until smooth then add cooked pasta and stir to combine. Taste then adjust salt & pepper if necessary

This recipe is from Iowa Girl Eats

 Broiled Frozen Corn:

 When a co-worker saw this recipe I was intrigued. Who broils frozen corn? How would it taste? So many unanswered questions that I had to make it and find out..

The positive: It’s super easy to make. It took all of about 7 minutes to cook the corn frozen,

The Negative: None really.

Overall: Try it, you’ll like it 🙂

Directions:

Spread frozen corn on baking sheet. Sprinkle with olive oil, salt, and pepper. Broil for 5 minutes. Roasted corn!

 

One thought on “Alice Spring Chicken with Garlic Shell Pasta and Broiled Frozen Corn:

  1. I hate Alice Spring Chicken…I opened an Outback Steakhouse back in myh HS days and we were allowed to try anything on the menu…needless to say I ate a lot of Alice Spring Chicken….eventually leading to me hating chicken with sauce and cheese on it in any combination. lol

Leave a Reply

