Baked Potato Soup

Baked Potato Soup

P1050035.jpg

I’m such a baby but it’s been freezing here! Like literally freezing temps. When I moved to Arizona I signed up for warm weather not below freezing temperatures, blah! Anyways, with the cold weather I knew I needed soup. I saw a skinny baked potato soup recipe and was intrigued. The secret to this soup is puree cauliflower to give it more consistency.

The positive: It was quick to make. The secret was heating the potatoes in the microwave to cook them. However, I had to also steam the cauliflower which added a tad bit more of time. This soup recipe is also less  than 200 calories (if you don’t include bacon). With the extra potato soup I threw it into my freezer and had it as leftovers and it tasted even better than when I originally made it. I also received compliments at work that it smelled really good.

The Negative: I had to add a lot of pepper to give it flavor. The lack of flavor really was a negative for me. Maybe if I had added some turkey bacon to the recipe I’d feel different but instead I kept adding cheese to give it flavor. However, as a left over maybe the flavors absorbed better together but it tasted fine as a left over. 

Overall: This soup was okay. Maybe it’s because it’s a skinny version but it wasn’t my favorite and it tasted kind of watery. I probably will try making it again and seeing if turkey bacon makes a difference but even if it doesn’t I’d probably make it and freeze it for lunches.

All in all I give the recipes a 3 out 5 star rating. 

This recipe was taken from Skinny Taste

Ingredients: 

  • 2 russet potatoes, washed and dried
  • 1 small head of cauliflower, stem removed cut into florets
  • 1 1/2 cups fat free chicken broth
  • 1 1/2 cups 1% reduced-fat milk
  • salt and freshly cracked black pepper
  • 1/2 cup light sour cream
  • 10 tbsp reduced-fat shredded sharp cheddar cheese
  • 6 tbsp chopped chives, divided
  • 3 slices bacon, cooked and crumbled (you can use turkey bacon if you prefer)

Directions:

Pierce potatoes with a fork; microwave on high for 5 minutes turn over and microwave another 3 – 5 minutes, until tender. Or if you prefer to use your oven, bakeat 400° for 1 hour or until tender. CoolPeel potatoes.

Meanwhile, steam cauliflower with water in a large covered pot until tender. Drain and return to pot. On medium heat, add chicken broth, milk, potatoes and bring to a boil. Use an immersion blender to puree until smooth. Add sour cream, half the chives, salt and pepper and cook on low another 5-10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Remove from heat. Ladle 1 cup soup into each bowl. Top each serving with 2 tbsp cheese, remaining chives, and bacon.

Happy Cooking!!!

Leave a Reply

