Herbed Pasta with Toasted Breadcrumbs

Happy New Year! To start with can you believe the only resolution from 2012 I accomplished was cooking more? In a little over a year I made over 100 new meals according to my blog. My goal for 2013 is to continue trying new recipes. I want to cook at home more and not eat out as much. With that being said I have to find ways to make that work. I’ve created a meal plan for the month with a few things in mind. They won’t always be healthy. Having a picky eater prevents me from having super healthy meals. At least twice a week we will have a meatless meal for dinner. Once a week we will have a crockpot/freezer pre-made meal (meaning a meal I’ve prepped and froze as opposed to a frozen dinner you buy at the store) and once a week we will have a copy cat recipe. A copy cat recipe is one of our favorite meals from a restaurant that I attempt to make at home. My goal/hope is I’ve created successful tools to help us save money so we can visit our dear friends in Europe next year! With that being said let’s get to the first meal of 2013. 

P1050007.jpg

The Herbed Pasta w/ toasted breadcrumbs recipe is one I’ve had for years. Back in college I created a  ghetto recipe book and it’s one of the original recipes.  It has always sounded good but I had no idea how I would ever convince Chad the meal was for him. I thought pairing it up with breadsticks would sweeten the deal. Let’s recap this meal a little more in detail

The positive: The meal was super easy to make. The actual ingredients required is 7 (I only used 6), it’s healthy, and it made a good leftover

The negative: Chad thought it had no flavor. He tried to spice it up by adding spaghetti sauce and he still couldn’t eat it. I will agree with Chad that it isn’t the most flavorful meal we’ve had. I knew from the start this recipe would never be something he would like but I made it anyway lol.

Overall: I liked the recipe. I hand made the breadcrumbs which gave me control of the flavor. I think the only way this meal could have been more exciting would have been to add some peppers or some other vegetable. However, like I said it tasted good as a left over. I would make this meal again in the future but only for lunch.

Per Chad’s request he asked that I start a rating system for each meal. On a 1 – 5 scale with 1 being don’t ever make this again to 5 being a make this every night. For this meal he gave it a 1. For everyone else who isn’t a picky eater I give it a 3 and 1/2 star. It’s quick, healthy, and I feel like this meal is good for a night when you have no groceries in the house but still need to eat..I feel like most of these ingredients could be staples in a persons home.

Herbed Pasta with Toasted Breadcrumbs

Ingredients 

11 ounces of whole wheat linguine (or any pasta of your choice)

3 tablespoons of Olive oil

2/3 cup seasoned breadcrumbs

2 garlic cloves (minced)

1 cup of vegetable stock (or the recipe says you can sub for dry white wine)

1/2 cup of Parmesan cheese

Optional: Fresh Parsley

Directions:

1. Cook pasta in boil water until al dente. Drain and set aside reserving 1/4 cup of the cooking liquids.

2. Heat 1 tbs of olive oil in skillet over medium high heat

3. Add breadcrumbs and saute for two minutes stirring constantly until golden.

4. Transfer breadcrumbs to plate and set aside.

5. Heat remaining oil into same skillet over medium heat and saute garlic for 30 seconds Add vegetable stock and bring to a boil

6. Simmer 2 minutes and add pasta, and remaining ingredients except breadcrumbs to vegetable stock mixture.

7. Toss until mixture is heated throughout and pasta is coated. Top with breadcrumbs and serve

Happy Cooking!!!

Leave a Reply

