White Chicken Enchiladas

White Chicken Enchiladas

IMG_7300.jpg

So I love enchiladas but I hate the red sauce. It creeps me out but the green sauce is totally fine by me. Weird I realize. I’ve been searching for a recipe for enchiladas that both the husband and I would enjoy. When I came across this version I knew I’d enjoy but wasn’t sure how Chad would. I figured if I loaded it with cheese it would be a hit. My theory only proved to be half correct. Chad thought it was okay at best where I really enjoyed the enchiladas. They were super easy to make which is always a plus! My only complaint was it made a ton of extras and as a re-heat, not my favorite. I would suggest making this recipe if your hosting a dinner for friends or family but if this is a meal your looking to eat for days then maybe try a different enchilada recipe. 

Oh and one more thing about this recipe is I substituted sour cream for Greek yogurt. I am not a fan of sour cream and didn’t have the heart to place it in my enchiladas. The substitute worked out great. Neither of us could tell a difference! To view the original version of this recipe please visit here 

Chicken enchiladas with green chili sour cream sauce
*These are seriously so so good*
10 soft taco shells
2 cups cooked, shredded chicken
2 cups shredded Monterey Jack cheese
3 Tbsp. butter
3 Tbsp. flour
2 cups chicken broth
1 cup Plain Greek Yogurt
1 (4 oz) can diced green chillies
 
1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease a 9×13 pan
2. Mix chicken and 1 cup cheese.  Roll up in tortillas and place in pan.
3. In a sauce pan, melt butter, stir in flour and cook 1 minute.  Add broth and whisk until smooth.  Heat over medium heat until thick and bubbly.  
4. Stir in greek yogurt and chilies.  Do not bring to boil, you don’t want curdled sour cream.
5. Pour over enchiladas and top with remaining cheese.
6. Bake 22 min and then under high broil for 3 min to brown the cheese.
More Pictures (not the best quality sorry)
IMG_7304.jpg
IMG_7304.jpg
Happy Cooking!
Leave a Reply

