Spinach Tomato Orzo Soup

Spinach Tomato Orzo Soup

IMG_7131.jpg

Now that the weather has cooled down here I’ve been wanting to make soup. Last week I was craving a hot bowl of soup. However, I was limited on ingredients. My go to soup is usually tortilla or potato but since I didn’t have the supplies to make those I remembered the spinach tomato orzo soup I found on pinterest a while back. Luckily, I had all the ingredients and was able to feed my craving. The soup was really easy to make. and it had good flavor. I added a little lemon juice for some extra flavor. The one thing is a little orzo goes a long way. I can’t get rid of it. Expect more recipes involving orzo lol.

Spinach Tomato Orzo Soup

Ingredients

1 large onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, chopped
1 lb spinach, fresh or frozen, defrosted
1 – 15 oz can diced Italian tomatoes (with oregano and basil)
1 lb package orzo pasta
2 quarts chicken or vegetable stock
2 quarts water
olive oil

Method

1. Preheat a large soup. Drizzle with olive oil. Add onions and saute until tender. Add garlic and saute for 2 – 3 minutes. Add canned tomatoes, spinach, chicken or vegetable stock and water. Bring to a boil and reduce heat to medium.

2. Add orzo cook for 12 – 15 minutes, or until orzo is tender.

Click here to view the original recipe

More pictures

IMG_7131.jpg

IMG_7131.jpg

Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

