Citrus Couscous

Citrus Couscous

IMG_5961.jpg

This was my first attempt/first time having couscous. I had been wanting to try for a long time and when I saw this recipe I knew this would be a good opportunity to try the recipe out. However, I wasn’t a fan of the recipe. I thought it was too much citrus for my liking and I overall didn’t enjoy the taste of couscous. It was easy to make it just wasn’t for me. Maybe you will like it more than me though!

I altered the recipe a tad so please visit the original website if your interested in adding olives to the recipe. Click here to view

This recipe serves 3-4

  1. Toast the couscous in 1/2 tablespoon of oil, till it turns nutty brown all over, 2 to 3 minutes. Add the orange juice and stir till the the liquid starts bubbling. Add the salt to taste (I added 1/2 teaspoon). Reduce the heat to a simmer, and put a tight fitting lid on the pot and cook for about 10 minutes. Halfway through, stir to release any couscous sticking to the bottom and cover again.
  2. While that is cooking, add the finely minced onions, the remaining 1/2 tablespoon of oil and black pepper (I added almost 1/4 teaspoon).
  3. Once the couscous is cooked al dente, fluff it up so it doesn’t stick together and add the dressing, mix well, adjust salt to taste. Add Rosemary
  4. The sweetness of the orange juice contrasts beautifully with the saltiness of the olives and I love the little lemony bursts from the thyme in every mouthful.

    Happy Cooking!!!

Leave a Reply

