Skinny Chicken & Broccoli Alfredo

A few weeks ago my brother visited and I made chicken and broccoli alfredo. I love Alfredo but it was the first time in probably 6 months I had it since Chad is not a fan of the alfredo sauce scene. First off, I assumed everyone like alfredo. I guess had I known about his dislike for alfredo it could have been a deal breaker for me early in our relationship..kidding! Secondly, since making alfredo for my brother and family I’ve been craving it since. So I knew I needed to make it again only I wanted to try and make the alfredo sauce myself. Lastly, I wondered if making my own alfredo sauce would taste as good as the store bought ones. 

I found the Skinny Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo recipe here. I was intrigued by the recipe because the sauce is a greek yogurt base instead of a cream cheese and heavy cream base. The recipe is easy to make and probably took me 25 minutes to make everything from cooking the pasta, grilling the chicken, steaming the broccoli, and making the sauce. I was very skeptical that the sauce wouldn’t taste like alfredo but it tasted just like your regular everyday alfredo sauce only cheesier. The meal was very satisfying and my only complaint about the meal was that I steamed the broccoli a little too long and it was soggy tasting. However, that was my wrong doing. I actually think the recipe says to roast the broccoli but I decided to steam it. This meal could easily feed 3 people and I’d like to think its healthier than your traditional alfredo sauce but I don’t have the nutritional facts to back that up.

Skinny Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

Ingredients

3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, grilled and cut into chunks (about 2 cups)
2 cups roasted broccoli florets
8 ounces fettuccine
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
2 teaspoons minced garlic
2 tablespoons flour
1 cup fat-free, low sodium chicken broth
1/4 cup plain greek yogurt
1/4 cup milk
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1 pinch ground nutmeg
3/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese

 

Directions

In a pot of boiling, salted water, cook the pasta according to package directions. Drain and set aside.

In a medium saucepan, heat the olive oil over medium-low heat. Add garlic and cook, stirring frequently, until the garlic is golden, 1 to 2 minutes.

Whisk in the flour until smooth, about 2 minutes. Gradually whisk in the chicken broth, Greek yogurt, milk, pepper and nutmeg. Bring to a low boil, stirring constantly. Lower the heat and simmer, stirring gently, until the mixture thickens, about 3 minutes. Stir in 3/4 cup Parmesan.

Add cooked chicken and broccoli to sauce mixture, followed by the cooked pasta. Toss to combine and serve with more Parmesan, if desired.

Recipe in Pictures

The sauce cooking

IMG_5346.jpg

 

Finished Product

IMG_5346.jpg

IMG_5346.jpg

Happy Cooking!!!

Leave a Reply

