Healthy Broccoli Cheese Soup

So I’ve never had broccoli cheese soup before. Can you believe it? It’s never been a soup that’s struck my fancy but when I discovered this recipe Healthy Broccoli Cheese Soup I decided its time to give this soup a chance. The recipe was easy to make and I liked the fact that it has other vegetables in the soup. My only complaint about the soup was I didn’t have an immersion blender so I had to blend the soup in my blender which was a little bit of a hassle. Me being the amateur cooker had to google immersion blender to confirm I didn’t own one. haha. I thought the flavor of the soup was good. I like broccoli but I’m not in love with the taste so I worried it might be too much broccoli for my taste buds but it wasn’t the case at all. I had 2 hearty bowls for lunch and then had the rest the next day as a leftover. It made a wonderful leftover by the way. I will definitely be making this soup more often since it’s so healthy! 

Healthy Broccoli Cheese Soup

Healthy Broccoli Cheese Soup

(Adapted from Skinny Taste’s Broccoli Cheese and Potato Soup)

Makes approximately 4 1/2 cups of soup

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 large carrot, chopped
  • 2 celery stalks, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons chopped garlic
  • 2 tablespoons whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground pepper
  • 2 1/4 cups reduced sodium chicken or vegetable broth
  • 3/4 cup 2 percent milk (skim or whole milk will also work)
  • 2 cups broccoli florets, chopped
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons grated parmesan or Romano cheese
  • 1 1/2 cups reduced fat shredded cheese (I used Mexican blend)

Directions:

  • Heat olive oil in a large pot on medium heat. Add onion, carrot, celery and garlic. Sauté until onion is translucent and slightly soft.
  • Add whole wheat flour to vegetables and stir until vegetables are coated in flour.
  • Add nutmeg, pepper, broth and milk. Stir and bring to a boil. Reduce head and allow soup to simmer for approximately 5 minutes. Add broccoli and allow to simmer for an additional 5 minutes or until broccoli is slightly soft.
  • Stir in parmesan cheese. Stir in shredded cheese. Stir cheeses into soup until melted.
  • Using a blender, blend the soup until vegetables are no longer chunky and soup is smooth.

 

Recipe in Pictures

Vegetables…I didn’t have a whole onion to use so I used the rest of an onion I did have.

IMG_5275.jpg

Adding the brown flour to the vegetables

IMG_5275.jpg

Finished Product

IMG_5275.jpg

Happy Cooking!!! 🙂

 

One thought on “Healthy Broccoli Cheese Soup

Leave a Reply

