Chicken Jambalaya

So my intention was to make this recipe for Mardi Gras but I was pregnant and lazy so it never happened. So here we are several months later and I FINALLY got around to making it. I’ve actually made this recipe before and loved it. I did stray from the original recipe which can be found here. My only gripe with the recipe the first time I made it was the sodium levels on the cajun style boxed rice was outrageous. I decided if I ever made the recipe again I’d try to find an alternative way to make the seasoning myself. I decided to buy just cajun seasoning and it cut the sodium level probably in half. I did find a homemade creole seasoning I also made which you can view here. I really enjoyed the chicken jambalaya this time around. I was disappointed in myself because I had yellow and orange bell pepper to add to the meal but they looked raunchy so I threw them away. I think the meal had a good flavor but the seasoning wasn’t spicy at all. However, the turkey sausage I bought was extremely spicy so I am thankful that the seasoning wasn’t also spicy. The meal makes a ton so I will be having leftovers for a few days! It’s super easy to make and I even threw the chicken in uncooked and then cut it up after it cooked. I highly suggest this meal if your in the mood for cajun food!

 

Chicken Jambalaya

INGREDIENTS

  • 8ounces skinless, boneless chicken-breast halves
  • 16ounce package frozen or fresh bell peppers and onions
  • ounces smoked turkey sausage, halved lengthwise and cut into 1/2-inch slices
  • cups water
  •  can diced tomatoes with jalapeno peppers, undrained
  • ounce package jambalaya rice mix (or I did 2 cups of brown rice and made my own seasoning)

DIRECTIONS

Cut chicken into 1/2-inch strips (or place them in uncooked and cut up after they have cooked)

Place vegetables in a 3-1/2- or 4-quart slow cooker and top with chicken strips and turkey sausage.

Add water, undrained tomatoes, and seasoning packet from rice.

Cover and cook on low-heat setting for 5 to 6 hours or on high-heat setting for 2 1/2 to 3 hours. Stir in rice. Cover and cook about 45 minutes more (if using low-heat setting, turn to high-heat setting), or until most of the liquid is absorbed and the rice is tender.

 

Recipe In Pictures

IMG_5275.jpg

Adding seasoning, water, and tomatoes 

IMG_5275.jpg

Finished Product

IMG_5328.jpg

IMG_5328.jpg

IMG_5328.jpg

 

Happy Cooking!!!

Leave a Reply

