Crispy Cheddar Chicken

So last night for dinner I had no clue what to make.  I was going to make the chick-fil-a nuggets but quickly realized I was missing a key ingredient and then all my alternative ideas also lacked an ingredient or two. Then I decided I wanted something easy (which none of the recipes I was looking to make seemed easy). In all honesty cooking was the last thing I wanted to do. However, since I’m at home on bedrest cooking at home has now become a necessity which is a bummer. So I turned to the internet…well pinterest for an idea. After extensive searching I found the crispy cheddar chicken recipe. It was a simple recipe and only required a few key ingredients which I’m always a fan of. I wasn’t sure what Chad would think of the recipe since it had a sauce on top of the chicken. The verdict? Chad said this meal needed to be in the rotation of meals we eat. i knew if he could look past the sauce he’d love the chicken mixture which are two things he enjoys greatly….cheese and crackers! I also really enjoyed the flavor and I’m not a fan of ritz crackers but with the cheese it had a great taste.

Ingredients

Chicken:
4 chicken tenders
6-8  Ritz crackers crushed
1/8 t pepper
1/4 C milk
1 1/2 cup cheddar cheese, grated
1 t dried parsley
 
Sauce:
1   10 ounce can cream of chicken soup (if you can find another use I’d say only use half a can of cream of soup. We ended up wasting about half of it)
2 T sour cream
2 T butter
Directions – Preheat oven to 400 degrees
1. Crush Ritz crackers to crumb size
2. Pour the milk, cheese and cracker crumbs into 3 separate small pans. Add 1/8 t pepper into the cracker crumbs and stir the mixture around to combine.
3. Dip each piece of chicken into the milk then the cheese. Press the cheese into the chicken with your fingers. Some of it will fall off when you add it to the cracker crumbs, don’t worry about it.
4. Press the cheesy chicken into the cracker crumbs and press it in. By the time you are coating the last piece of chicken, the dish you are using for the crumbs will be full of cheese. Don’t let it get you down. Once the cheese melts in the oven it will adhere nicely to the crumbs and the crackers.
5. Spray a 9×13 pan with cooking spray and lay the chicken inside the pan. 
6. Sprinkle the dried parsley over the chicken. 
7. Cover the pan with tin foil and bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes. Remove the tin foil, bake for an additional 5 minutes, or until the edges of the chicken are golden brown and crispy. 

8. Into a medium sized sauce pan combine the cream of chicken soup, sour cream and butter with a whisk. Stir it over medium high heat until the sauce is nice and hot. Serve over the chicken,
Recipe in pictures
It’s hard to see the chicken in the cracker/cheese mixture
IMG_4166.jpg
Out of the oven
IMG_4170.jpg
Finished Product- I probably added way too much sauce on top since I had a ton..I also think I should have let the cream of chicken soup thin out a little more before serving
IMG_4172.jpg
To see the original version of this recipe and to see tastier pictures of this meal please visit 
Happy Cooking!
Leave a Reply

