Pepperoni Pizza Hot Pockets

In my attempts to be picky eater friendly for a certain husband of mine I decided to try and make hot pockets. I mean who doesn’t love a good hot pocket? Well I personally am not a fan of them because I just feel like its a bunch of grossness. However, if I could make my own and know what is going into it perhaps I too could become a fan of the hot pocket scene. I guess my real question is how are hot pockets and calzones not the same thing? Regardless, I was excited to make the hot pockets for Chad. They were easy to make maybe 5 or 10 minutes of prep time total. They tasted pretty good but we both agreed it didn’t fill us up. i guess in the future we could add a salad or it would be a good appetizer but it can’t stand its own as a meal.

 

Pepperoni Pizza Hot Pockets

1 premade pie crust, thawed and rolled flat

1/2 cup pepperoni slices

1/2 cup pizza sauce

1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 400ºF.

2. Transfer the pie crusts to a lightly floured surface and cut it into 2×3 rectangles. It is easiest to measure the pieces with a ruler, score the crust with a knife and cut it with a pizza cutter.

3. Spoon about 2 teaspoons of pizza sauce followed by 2 to 3 pepperoni and a large pinch of mozzarella onto one of the rectangles, leaving about 1/4 inch of space before the edge. Use a cookie cutter or paring knife to cut out fun shapes in the second rectangle. Then place the cut out rectangle over the jam and seal the edges together with the tines of a fork. Baking on a cookie sheet for 8 to 10 minutes, then allow to cool.

 

Recipe in pictures ( I actually took pictures of my veggie hot pocket instead of Chad’s pepperoni hot pocket…oops!)

IMG_3816.jpg

 

Oh wait here is a picture of Chad’s hot pocket

IMG_3818.jpg

 

My hot pocket

IMG_3819.jpg

Finished Product

IMG_3820.jpg

This recipe was taken from http://blogs.babble.com/family-kitchen/2011/03/31/homemade-pepperoni-pizza-hot-pockets/

 

Happy Cooking!!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

