Chick-Fil-A Nuggets

Through my pregnancy I have been semi-obsessed with chick-fil-a. It started with their chicken sandwiches. moved on to the chocolate peppermint shakes (RIP can’t wait for your return come December), and then ended with their nuggets. I don’t know what it is about their nuggets that are so good but I’m addicted. Since we are kinda but not consistently trying to eat at home more I’ve been on the hunt for foods that are similar to what we would eat at a restaurant (hello orange chicken!). When I came across the chick-fil-a nuggets on pinterest I knew that if these tasted like the real nuggets that Chad and I like then we would be onto something sweet!

I won’t lie most times I dont read a recipe until I make it. This ended up being a disadvantage because  I was supposed to marinade the chicken in a milk and egg mixture for 2-4 hours. I only had about 30 minutes to marinade the chicken. However, the recipe is super easy to follow. It smelled promising but the true test would be once dinner was finished and we were taking our first bite. The verdict? At first Chad thought it was good but didn’t taste like chick-fil-a. I thought it tasted similar but I was dipping my nuggets in their honey bbq sauce. Once Chad started doing the same thing he referred to the meal as “one of the best things I’ve ever made.” He also asked if we could have this once or twice a week. Needless to say I think he’s a fan of the meal. In the future I would also add my take on a chocolate peppermint milkshake to complete the meal. All in all it was a hit!

Ingredients:

2 skinless and boneless chicken breasts
1 cup milk
1 egg
1 1/4 cups flour
2 TBSP powdered sugar
2 tsp salt
1 tsp pepper
peanut oil (is best) or canola oil

 

Directions:

In a medium bowl whisk the egg and stir in the milk. Trim any fat away from chicken. Cube chicken into bite size pieces. Place chicken in milk mixture,and cover. Let it ‘marinate’ for 2-4 hours in the fridge. This will make the chicken very nice and tender. In a gallon size resealable baggie combine flour, powdered sugar, salt and pepper. Seal and shake to combine. Place about 2 inches of oil in a medium deep pot. Over medium high heat (more towards the high side) heat oil until hot. If using a thermometer let the temperature reach 375°. If you don’t have a fancy gadget like most people, I always test my oil by dropping a few drops of water into it. You want it to sizzle and not pop too much. Adjust your heat if necessary. Using a fork or tongs remove cut chicken from milk mixture and place in the flour mixture. Seal and shake until nuggets are completely coated. Place about a 6-8 nuggets into hot oil and let them cook until golden brown, turning half way through once the edge of your chicken starts to turn white. About 1 minute each side. Always double check to see if any chicken you make is cooked through. I always just make a tiny cut to see if it’s pink. Remove and drain on a paper towel. Repeat until all nuggets are cooked. Serve with your favorite sauce!

 

Recipes in pictures

IMG_2995.jpg

IMG_2998.jpg

 

This recipe was taken from http://www.mynameissnickerdoodle.com/2011/03/fabulous-food-friday-79.html

 

Happy Cooking! 🙂

One thought on “Chick-Fil-A Nuggets

Leave a Reply

