Apple Cider Muffins

Last night I discovered a 6 pack of eggs I had bought were expiring. In a frantic state I tried to find a recipe that called for 4 eggs. It was impossible since a lot of the items I found I didnt have enough ingredients to make. However. I found apple cider muffins. Random huh? I made two batches and used 2 of the 4 eggs. Sadly I wasted the other two.

I never had a apple cider muffin but I was intrigued and had apple cider so it made sense. The recipe was easy to make. However, the strudel portion did not come out for me. I think it may have been because I somehow skipped adding the sugar and didn’t realize it late in the process. The muffins were good but I think would have been better if I had that scrumptious strudel topping.

Apple Cider Muffins

Ingredients
Streusel
1/3 cup light brown sugar
3 tbsp flour
2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
3 tbsp butter

Muffins
1 3/4 cups flour
1/3 cup sugar
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1 tbsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 egg
3/4 cup apple cider
1/4 cup vegetable oil

To make the streusel, mix together the brown sugar, flour and spices in a small bowl. Cut in the butter (or pulse in a food processor) until it resembles course crumbs. (I will admit, I used to make streusel just to eat, when I didn’t feel like going to the trouble of baking an entire dessert and because I almost always have the ingredients on hand).

Onto the muffins! Preheat the oven to 400. In a large bowl, stir together flour, sugar, nutmeg, baking powder and salt. In a small bowl, mix together the egg, apple cider and oil. Add the contents of this small bowl to the flour mixture and mix just until combined.

Prepare your muffin tins by either greasing them or using paper cups. Because I like my muffins to be tall, I always fill only 11 when a recipe could technically make the typical dozen. This is optional! Fill each muffin cup halfway with batter and then spoon about a teaspoon of the streusel on top. Fill muffin cups with the rest of batter until a 1/4 inch away from the top of tin. Sprinkle the streusel evenly on the tops.

Bake for about 15 to 20 minutes or until tops are golden brown and puffed out. Remove from muffin tin and allow to cool.

Recipe in Pictures

Muffin Mixture

IMG_2999.jpg

Finished product—my attempts with the strudel topping

IMG_3004.jpg

My second attempts with no topping

IMG_3006.jpg

This recipe was taken from http://www.aliciakachmar.com/blog/life/apple-cider-muffins/

Happy Cooking! 🙂

Leave a Reply

