Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

So I realize I’ve been MIA for a while. I have a back log of recipes to post but those will have to wait because I’m so excited to share tonight’s meal with you. Back in College I tried making this recipe and it turned out okay but I remember it being really difficult to make. However, I’m glad I gave the recipe another chance. Back in college I never cooked so maybe this was out of my league for cooking but tonight I found the recipe simple and the final result amazing! From prep time to cook time it was about an hour but the minute I took the macaroni and cheese out of the oven I knew it was worth the wait. The smell was amazing and the first bite was scrumptious. Chad liked it too so you know it must be good.

If possible I’d suggest using organic products however I didn’t have any at home.

Ingredients

1 ½ cups shell pasta
3 tablespoons butter
3 tablespoons flour
2 cups organic milk
1 teaspoon dry mustard
½ teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon cayenne pepper
dash pepper
1 ½ cups grated organic cheddar cheese
1 cups grated parmesan cheese
2-4 organic roma tomatoes – sliced
1 cup bread crumbs

Directions:

Cook pasta until firm. Set aside.
Melt butter on low heat. Whisk in flour and continue to stir for 3 minutes.
Pour in milk and continue to whisk until mixture comes to a light boil.
Add mustard, salt, cayenne and pepper and continue to cook at a low simmer, stirring constantly, until mixture has thickened – about 3 minutes.
Stir in cheddar cheese and half (1/2 cup) of the parmesan cheese.
Stir until cheese has melted.
Place cooked macaroni in a greased baking dish.
Pour sauce over the macaroni and stir until macaroni is fully coated.
In a small bowl mix together bread crumbs and remaining parmesan cheese.
Sprinkle crumb mixture over the pasta.
Top with sliced tomatoes and a light dusting of cayenne pepper.
Bake at 350 for 30 minutes.
Serve with mixed greens or salad.

Recipe in Pictures

The cheesy mixture

IMG_1658.jpg

Mac and Cheese together at last

IMG_1660.jpg

Going into the oven

IMG_1661.jpg

Finished Product

IMG_1666.jpg

IMG_1667.jpg

IMG_1671.jpg

To see this recipe in its original format please visit http://sarasnow.com/recipe?action=retrieveRecipeDetailsHTML&recipeID=44&destinationpage=/pg/jsp/community/recipes/recipedetail.jsp

Happy Cooking!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

