Slow Cooker Orange Chicken

Chad and I love Chinese food. If it was in our budget we’d be at Panda Express, Pick Up Stix, PF Chang’s, and whatever other restaurants all the time. Sadly this is not our lifestyle and we are stuck eating at home. I’ve always wanted to try and make my own Chinese food but I feel like all of the recipes call for like 20 ingredients and I’ve learned that the more ingredients a recipe calls for the more likely I am to screw it up. When I ran across this orange chicken recipe in the crockpot I was intrigued for a few reasons. 

Reason 1. It only required 7 ingredients 

Reason 2. The picture looked amazing

Reason 3. How would it taste in the crockpot

Reason 4. I love my crockpot so I’m always interested in making new recipes. 

Once I told Chad about the recipe we were sold and had to try it. The recipe is simple to make. It probably took me more time to find all the ingredients than to prep the orange sauce.  I made it on high since by the time we went grocery shopping to get the few ingredients we didn’t have it was already 6. Since your cooking the chicken on the stove first if you put the crockpot on high the chicken probably takes about 2 hours to cook. 

The verdict? While the orange chicken is no panda express it’s not bad. I definitely think in the future if I made it I would cut the orange juice amount in half. The orange flavor is very strong. Chad really enjoyed the orange chicken at first but the taste was even too strong for him. We agreed to keep the recipe but to cut down on the orange juice next time. I also think next time I would add red pepper flakes to give it a kick.

 

Slow Cooker Orange Chicken
Ingredients:

• boneless chicken breasts, chopped into small chunks (I used about 4)
• 1/3 cup flour
• olive oil
• 1/2 Tbl. salt
• 1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar
• 3 Tbl. ketchup
• 6 oz. frozen orange juice concentrate (thaw or throw it in the microwave for 45 seconds)
• 4 Tbl.  brown sugar

In a bowl, mix the orange juice, brown sugar, vinegar, salt, and ketchup.  Pour the flour in a small bowl.  Cover the chicken breast chunks in flour and shake off the excess.

Pour a small amount of olive oil in a skillet and brown the flour-covered chicken.
The chicken doesn’t need to be fully cooked since it’s going in the crock pot.

After the chicken is done cooking, pour the pieces into the crock pot. Then cover the chicken with your sauce mixture and give the pot a stir.

Cook on low for 5-6 hours or on high for 2-3.

Serve over rice and even add veggies if you want a healthier meal.

 

Recipe in pictures

The orange sauce

IMG_1154.jpg

 

the chicken in the crockpot after being cooked on the stove

IMG_1160.jpg

 

About to cook for a few hours

IMG_1162.jpg

 

Finished Product:

IMG_1169.jpg

IMG_1168.jpg

 

This recipe was taken from http://sixsistersstuff.blogspot.com/2011/09/slow-cooker-orange-chicken.html

 

Happy Cooking! 🙂

One thought on “Slow Cooker Orange Chicken

  1. This is dinner tonight! I’m super excited to hopefully make a successful asian cuisine! I have my rice cooker going with some brown rice and the crockpot on high…I’m hoping it’ll be ready be the next playoff game! 🙂

Leave a Reply

