TOFU SPAGHETTI SAUCE

Tofu you either love it or hate it. Well I can kinda tolerate it. The truth is I used to LOVE tofu when I was a vegetarian. I would cook it in everything and couldn’t get enough. Now-a-days I will eat it but I probably make a face lol. When I saw the tofu spaghetti sauce recipe years ago on tv I thought it looked amazing. I knew I had to make it and here we are in 2012 and I finally got around to it. It’s hard to get me excited about tofu but I dove in and started preparing this spaghetti sauce for my spaghetti dinner. For the record Chad would not even be in the same room as cooked onions (such a picky eater!) so needless to say he did not try this recipe. I had to alter the recipe based on the ingredients/vegetables I liked. The sauce appealed to me because it seemed to be more hearty than my typical spaghetti meal which often leaves me feeling hungry an hour later. The recipe is simple to make and probably with prepping take 20ish minutes to cook. The verdict? It’s good and it’s filling. The tofu wasn’t my favorite and perhaps ground turkey or shredded chicken would be better for next time but I still ate it. I also cut the tofu amount in half in case I didn’t like it. It left me with tons of left overs which I plan to freeze for the next time I feel like pasta!

Ingredients

1 pound whole grain pasta
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1 large onion – chopped
2 garlic cloves – diced
½ teaspoon salt
1.2 cup of spinach
1 green bell pepper
½ container organic tofu – firm, drained and mashed to resemble a ground beef consistency 
1 jar organic spaghetti sauce
1 14 oz can stewed organic tomatoes
1 teaspoon oregano
½ teaspoon sugar
s & p to taste

Directions
Cook pasta according to package directions. Once cooked to al dente, drain but don’t rinse. In a large pot, sauté onion and garlic in olive oil and salt. Add mushrooms, spinach and zucchini. Cover and cook about 5 minutes, stirring frequently. 
Add mashed tofu, spaghetti sauce, stewed tomatoes, bay leaf, oregano and sugar. Add salt and pepper to taste. Cover and simmer 10 minutes longer.
Serve with whole grain pasta and a salad of mixed organic greens, lightly dressed. 
OPTIONAL: Serve with a whole grain garlic bread. To make slice a whole grain baguette on the diagonal. In a bowl, mash together softened butter and 3 cloves of pressed or finely minced garlic. Spread into the slices. Wrap in tin foil and bake at 350 for 20 minutes.

Recipe in pictures

Before adding the actual spaghetti sauce in

IMG_1134.jpg

IMG_1135.jpg

Adding the spaghetti sauce in

IMG_1137.jpg

Finished Product

IMG_1138.jpg

IMG_1140.jpg

To see the original version of this recipe please visit http://sarasnow.com/recipe?action=retrieveRecipeDetailsHTML&recipeID=56&destinationpage=/pg/jsp/community/recipes/recipedetail.jsp

Happy Cooking!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

