Super-Easy Chicken Manicotti

A long long time ago I bought Manicotti noodles and tried to make it. It came out bland and not at all exciting. Then I found the super easy chicken manicotti recipe and thought it looked good. However, the recipe has been on my meal plan for probably 3 weeks now and I finally made it on Monday night! I was bummed when I realized my manicotti noodles were not the oven ready ones. However, cooking manicotti noodles is 10 times easier and quicker than lasagna noodles. The recipe was really easy to make once the noodles were cooked. The verdict? Chad and I loved the chicken Manicotti. My expectations were low but there was a lot of flavor. I did flavor the chicken with garlic powder, dried Italian seasoning, and pepper which I think gave it some additional flavor! 

Ingredients 

1 jar (25.5 oz) Muir Glen® organic pasta sauce (any variety)
3/4 cup water
1 teaspoon garlic salt
5 chicken tenders (not breaded)
8 uncooked manicotti shells (8 oz)
2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese (8 oz)
Chopped fresh basil leaves, if desired
I also added fresh parmesan cheese 
Directions:
Step 1: Heat oven to 350°F. In medium bowl, mix pasta sauce and water. Spread about 1/3 of the pasta sauce mixture in ungreased 13×9-inch (3-quart) glass baking dish.
Step 2: Sprinkle garlic salt on chicken. Insert chicken into uncooked manicotti shells, stuffing from each end of shell to fill if necessary. Place shells on pasta sauce in baking dish. Pour remaining pasta sauce evenly over shells, covering completely. Cover with foil
Step 3:  Bake about 1 hour or until chicken is no longer pink in center and shells are tender. Sprinkle with cheese. Bake uncovered about 5 minutes or until cheese is melted. Sprinkle with basil.
Recipe in Pictures
I thought I took some before putting it in the oven but apparently not. So these are the finished product pictures
IMG_1115.jpg
IMG_1122.jpg
For the recipe in its original format please visit http://www.bettycrocker.com/recipes/super-easy-chicken-manicotti/739e022a-f404-4eb8-ac96-6132778e6291?WT.dcsvid=MjA5NTQzNTk3MwS2&rvrin=0B2A6D5C-0A83-DC11-920E-00110A5B41E6&WT.mc_id=Newsletter_BC_04_08_2010
Happy Cooking!
Leave a Reply

