Vanilla French Toast

This morning I woke up wanting a hearty breakfast. During the week I don’t have time to make breakfast and usually eat toast on my way to work and cereal and yogurt once I get to work. It is a sufficient meal but on the weekends when I have the time I want to make a better breakfast. My original plan was to make an omelette but then I remembered a french toast recipe I had and decided to make that instead. I’ve only attempted to make french toast a few times in life and it’s never came out noteworthy or even good. I love french toast so that’s probably the only reason I still try to make it. This recipe was easy to make and while I still I can’t taste anything I could smell the french toast cooking and it smelled like french toast you would get from a restaurant. The true test would be what Chad thought. Turns out he really liked it. I think the only way the french toast could have turned out better was if we had Texas toast to make it on. I also would have enjoyed powdered sugar and fresh sliced strawberries but this isn’t Ihop and I did the best with what I had. lol. Cutting the recipe in half still made 7 pieces of french toast which was perfect for the two of us. For the record I had 4 pieces, Chad had 3. haha

Vanilla French Toast

Ingredients

7 slices of bread (we had 4 whole wheat slices and 3 slices of white bread)
1/2 cup of Vanilla all natural yogurt
1/4 cup Milk
2 eggs
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg 
2 teaspoon vanilla extract
Dash of pumpkin spice seasoning

Directions

In a mixing bowl, beat together eggs, yogurt, milk, spices and vanilla extract. Heat a lightly oiled griddle or skillet over medium-high flame. Dunk each slice of bread in egg mixture, soaking both sides. Place in pan, and cook on both sides until golden. Serve hot and top with yogurt or fresh berries.

Recipe in pictures:

The mixture

P1020001.jpg

On the stove

P1020004.jpg

The finished product

P1020005.jpg

To see the full version of this recipe please visit

http://www.stonyfield.com/recipes/vanilla-french-toast

Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

