Healthy Snacks….sorta….

Yesterday I had off work. I had two options. Option A. Clean or Option B. Cook. Today I went with option B and decided to try some new recipes. As I mentioned a few posts ago I am trying to be less wasteful. I bought a bag of apples last week and they’ve already seen better days. I decided to look up some apple recipes. I may 2 different apple recipes. One is healthy the other isn’t but I figured what the heck I can’t give up sugar entirely in life. I also made homemade granola.

Recipe 1: Apple Chips

I love apple chips and have been debating for a while on getting a food dehydrator. However I found an apple chip recipe online that can be made in the stove. It took two hours to make and sadly in the last 15 minutes of cooking the apple chips were burnt. The decision has now been made that I will be buying a food dehydrator for future attempts at apple chips. Here is the recipe and I guess the moral of the story is to check on them more frequently than every 15-20 minutes like I was.

Apple Chips

  • 2 large apples, cored (I used Red Delicious)
  • 2 T. sugar (optional)
  • 1 t. cinnamon
  • canola oil spray

Preheat oven to 250 degrees.

Thinly slice apples crosswise about 1/8-inch (2 mm) thick with a mandoline or sharp knife.  Arrange apple slices in a single layer on two parchment-lined rimmed baking sheets, and spray with canola oil cooking spray.

If using sugar, combine in a small bowl with cinnamon.  Put mixture into a sieve and sprinkle evenly over apple slices.

Bake in the top and bottom third of the oven until apples are dry and crisp, about 2 hours (after an hour flip apples to cook evenly).  Remove from oven and let ‘chips’ cool completely before transferring to a sealed container for up to 3 days.  Makes about 2 cups of apple chips.

Recipe in pictures

My burnt apple chips 😦

Recipe 2: Apple Crisps

So I’ve never had an apple crisp before but the pictures looked amazing. I had all the ingredients and thought what the heck? So what if it isn’t healthy I had been eating healthy all day and the recipe called for 2 apples so if anything I’d get some nutritional value. The apple crisp was extremely easy to make and it tasted amazing. I paired it with a few scoops of vanilla ice cream (hello calcium!) My only word to the wise is I cut the sugar down and in the future would also cut the baking soda amount down too. I could really taste it but I got over that.

Classic Apple Crisps

Ingredients
  • 4 cups sliced or diced apples
  • 1 tablespoon flour
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup butter
  • 3/4 cup oatmeal
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 350. Combine the first three ingredients and place in a greased 8×8 baking dish.
  2. Combine the remaining ingredients and sprinkle over the top of the apple mixture.
  3. Bake 30 minutes at 350. Serve warm with whipped cream or ice cream, or drizzled with caramel or honey. Refrigerate leftovers.
Recipe in Pictures:

Recipe 3: Simple Honey Granola

I have been wanting to make homemade granola for a while now. When I saw this recipe and noticed I had all the ingredients I decided it was meant to be and I made it! It’s super easy and the granola tastes delish! I can now have homemade granola in my yogurt and oatmeal if I want. I know what’s in it and it’s a lot cheaper making it than buying it in the store.

Ingredients:
8 TBSP honey
4 TBSP olive or hazelnut oil (I’m sure others would work well.  These are the ones I’ve tried.)
4 TBSP water
3 c. old-fashioned rolled oats
1 c. nuts (walnuts, slivered almonds, and pecans all work well)
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 c. dried fruit 
I also added a drizzle of vanilla for extra flavor
Directions:
1.  Preheat oven to 300 degrees F.  Pour honey, oil, and water in a microwaveable bowl.  Microwave for 30 seconds.  Remove and stir to combine.
2.  Meanwhile, mix oats, nuts, seeds, and cinnamon in a large bowl.  Pour the liquid mixture over the oats and toss until everything is well combined.3.  Spread on a baking sheet and cook about 30 minutes, tossing halfway through, until the oats are golden and slightly crispy (they crisp up even more when cooling down).
4.  Remove from the oven and fold in dried fruit.  Let cool completely in the pan.  Keep in an airtight container up to 1 week.
Recipe in pictures
To see the original recipe please visit http://kelseysappleaday.blogspot.com/
Happy Cooking!
Leave a Reply

