Cheese-Lover’s Pasta Roll-Ups

I feel pretty good about this week. I cooked at home all week which never happens! Tonight’s recipe is basically the same ingredients as last night’s pasta bake just used with a different pasta. When I decided to create this blog it was for a few reasons.

Reasons for a food blog

A. To help me cook more

B. To try new recipes

C. To find out what Chad and I like in order to create a cookbook of all our favorite recipes

D. To help me not be so wasteful with food

Let me focus on reason D for a minute. It’s true I’m very wasteful with food. When I have planned my meals in the past there is no rhyme or reason behind the meals I choose. I pick what sounds good and then go buy all the necessary ingredients without taking into consideration when I will use the rest of something. Often times I end up letting things go bad because I forget about them. With my new meal plan I am trying not to waste  anything which is why tonight’s meal is almost identical to last night’s meal. For the first time in years I used a whole container of ricotta cheese and didn’t let it go to waste. I didn’t throw away money for once! I feel really good about that. Hopefully its a continuing trend. I’m trying to be more mindful of what I’m buying and making sure I use it all. The good thing is I can freeze tonight’s meal also and have it for lunch next week or the following week.

Anyways, so the cheesy-lovers pasta roll up is super easy. A few weeks ago when I made lasagna I had to boil the noodles first which was such a hassle and time consuming. I want the rest of the noodles gone so I was trying to find another way to use lasagna noodles and when I came across this recipe I knew it was meant to be. Since I only had about a 1/2 container of Ricotta I didn’t get to make as many pasta roll-ups as the recipe called for but that’s fine with me!  I also didn’t have all the ingredients the recipe called for so it is altered a bit. I think this meal would go great with asparagus or salad but sadly I don’t have either of those so I’m eating it stag. I’m not sure if its a good recipe for picky eaters since Chad is sick and is instead having semi-homemade chicken broth and noodle soup. I wont even give the recipe to this unusual soup because only my husband would want to eat something like this. haha. Anyways, this recipe is good and is almost like a mini lasagna! Def worth a shot if you have a craving for lasagna but don’t feel like making it! The only flaw with my pasta roll ups was that I didnt add enough sauce but lesson learned for the future!

 

My version of the cheesy pasta roll ups-

8 oz Ricotta Cheese
1 cup of Mozarella cheese
1 cup of parmesan cheese
1 Tbsp. Italian seasoning
Garlic Powder
Onion Powder
Pepper
1/2 jar spaghetti sauce
5 lasagna noodles, cooked

make it

HEAT oven to 375ºF.

MIX first 7 ingredients until well blended.

SPREAD Cover spaghetti sauce onto bottom of 13×9-inch baking dish. Spread each noodle with 3 Tbsp. cheese mixture; roll up. Place, seam-sides down, in dish. Top with remaining sauce and Parmesan; cover.

BAKE 30 min. or until heated through, uncover for additional 5 min.

Recipe in Pictures

IMG_1011.jpg

The Mixture

P1010995.jpg

IMG_1007.jpg

IMG_1001.jpg

IMG_1009.jpg

IMG_1010.jpg

IMG_1013.jpg

IMG_1015.jpg

 

To see the recipe in its original format please visit http://www.kraftrecipes.com/recipes/cheese-lovers-pasta-roll-ups-114694.aspx

 

Happy Cooking!

One thought on “Cheese-Lover’s Pasta Roll-Ups

  1. These look scrumptious!! I’d have to add a little hamburger to the cheese, but I might try them sometine. Sort of like a lasagne appetizer!!

Leave a Reply

