Pasta Bake

Tonight’s recipe is one of my favorites. It’s easy to make, it makes a lot, and it tastes good! In my ideal world where I didn’t live with a picky eater there would be chunky spaghetti sauce instead of smooth. We would have diced onions instead of onion powder and we would have some veggies in the pasta bake. However, that is not my life and that will sadly never be the type of pasta bake I make. So instead we have a very plain tasting one that is nothing to write home about. I like the taste but I know the potential this recipe has so hopefully someone out there can give the recipe justice. I do stray from the original recipe a tad. I like ricotta but it’s not my favorite and I believe a little ricotta goes a long way so I cut the ricotta useage to 8 ounces instead of 16. I also add garlic and onion powder, Italian seasoning, and pepper to give it some flavor. Like I said it’s an easy recipe to make and if your having people over for dinner it makes a generous amount. I plan to freeze my leftover for lunch next week.

Ingredients

1 lb. of your favorite pasta
1 26 oz. jar of your favorite tomato sauce
1 16 oz. container of ricotta/part skim
1 8 oz. bag of mozzarella/part skim

Directions

Cook 1lb. pasta and drain. While still warm add whole container of ricotta and half of the mozzarella to the pasta. Grease 9×13 casserole dish with non stick spray. Spread some of the sauce to cover bottom of dish. Add half of pasta mixture and sprinkle with mozzarella. Repeat the proceedure and bake at 350 for 20 minutes or until bubbling.
Makes 6-8 servings

Recipe in Pictures

What you will need

IMG_0988.jpg

Step 1

IMG_0975.jpg

Adding the ricotta and mozzarella cheese to the cooked pasta

IMG_0979.jpg

Adding the pasta mixture into the sauce

IMG_0983.jpg

Before going into the oven

IMG_0986.jpg

Finished Product

IMG_0989.jpg

IMG_0991.jpg

 

Happy Cooking! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

