Grilled Double Decker Pizza Sandwhich

I’ve probably mentioned at least a few times that I’m married to the world’s pickiest eater. Last night when I made this amazing chicken stew over brown rice Chad refused to try it and I knew that would be the case so I found a back up meal for him. I am anti making two separate meals but when I saw the Grilled Double Decker Pizza Sandwich I knew if Chad liked it that it could be an easy recipe to make him when I’m not in the mood to cook. The recipe was really simple to make. I put the sandwhich on my panini press so it took under 5 minutes to make. It did smash the bread but I don’t think that altered the taste of the sandwich. I think the most awkward part of the whole meal was when I stood there waiting for him to take his first bite. When making new meals I have to have reactions right away. As anticipated he liked it! So if my picky eater liked it I’m sure yours well too…and if your lucky and don’t have a picky eater like me than it’s a meal everyone can enjoy!

Ingredients:

3 slices of bread or Texas Toast
4 slices Mozzarella or Colby Jack (or I used shredded mozzarella which worked out fine)
16-20 small Pepperonis
1/2 cup Marinara, more or less to taste
4 tablespoons Butter
preparation:
I used my panini press but if you don’t have one all you need to do is heat a griddle to 350-375 degrees. Or a pan over medium heat.
Directions:
Slice pepperonis in half. Butter four slices of bread and place two slices {butter-side down} on preheated griddle. Layer cheese, a few pepperonis and a couple tablespoons of marinara. Top with a slice of {un-buttered} Texas toast, cheese, pepperonis and sauce. Top that with the last piece of buttered bread {butter-side up} and flip once the bottom is golden. Griddle until a golden crust appears and the cheese is melted. Cut and serve!
Recipe in pictures (try not to drool lol)
Ingredients needed for recipe (really you only need 3 pieces of bread)
P1010841.jpg
Step one: Butter bread, add cheese and pepperoni
P1010845.jpg
Step 2: Added marinara sauce and
P1010844.jpg
Step 3: Repeat step 1
P1010846.jpg
Final Product: A gooey delicious mess
P1010854.jpg
Happy Cooking!
Leave a Reply

