Chicken Stew Over Brown Rice

With the Christmas season over with I have decided eating healthier is a necessity. Not only for me but for my baby. I don’t want her coming into this world hooked on sugar like her father is. I do love eating healthy but staying motivated to do it is another thing. When I was searching through my recipes I saw the chicken stew over brown rice I knew it’d be perfect for the healthier meals I’m trying to eat. I found this recipe on Sarah Snow’s website. For those not familiar with her she used to have a show back in 2007 on Discovery Health about living the green lifestyle. I loved her show and in return I grew a love for her. I subscribe to her newsletter, follow her on facebook, have read her book and I visit her website semi-regularly. In the past I’ve made a few of her ither recipes and they’ve turned out amazing. Her mac and cheese recipe I’ll have to make sometime but I loved it back in college when I made it. Anyways, per her recommendation I decided to make the chicken stew recipe. To be honest I didn’t know what chicken stew was or how it differed from chicken soup. I was expecting a soup and instead my meal has very little broth. I guess that is the main difference. I didn’t bother to google it to find out other key differences. I had to alter the recipe a tad since I’m not a fan of mushrooms or olives. In the future I think baby carrots would be a nice addition to this stew. Can you also believe I went to two different stores and could not find paprika?

Really the only issues I found with this recipe was I ended up adding more chicken broth since it all evaporated before it was done cooking and I wasn’t sure if the chicken was supposed to be cut up or not. I left the chicken way I cooked it since the original recipe calls for thighs I figured it wasn’t cut up. The meal was very flavorful and will definitely make the final cut into the cookbook I’m making of all of Chad and I’s favorite recipes!

Here is my altered version of the chicken stew over brown rice recipe. I’ll include the original at the bottom since it will probably taste better than my version!

1 ½ cups brown rice
¼ cup flour
2 teaspoons paprika
½ teaspoon salt
¼ teaspoon black pepper
6 chicken thighs or I used 4 chicken tenders – boneless and skinless, halved
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 cup chicken broth
4 cloves garlic – smashed
1/2 medium yellow onion – cut into thick chunks
1 red bell pepper – cut into thick chunks
1 green bell pepper – cut into thick chunks
1 tablespoon crushed red pepper.

Directions

Cook brown rice according to package instructions.
In a bowl, stir together the flour, paprika, salt and pepper. Toss the chicken pieces until lightly coated.
Heat olive oil in a large cast iron pan. Cook the chicken pieces in the oil until browned on all sides, about 6 minutes per side.
Remove the chicken to a plate.
Add in half of the broth, onion, garlic and olive oil to the pan. Bring to a low simmer.
Add in the peppers and continue to simmer until the vegetables begin to soften.
Pour in the remaining broth .
Return the chicken to the pan, submersing it under the broth and vegetables. Simmer, covered for 10 minutes.
Remove lid and continue to simmer for 10 minutes more or until chicken is cooked through. The sauce will thicken.
Before serving, sprinkle with crushed red pepper.
Season with additional salt and pepper as needed.
Serve spooned over brown rice.

Recipe in pictures

Ingredients needed

P1010834.jpg

Cooking the chicken

P1010826.jpg

Sauteing the garlic

P1010827.jpg

Adding the chicken broth (please excuse the pan apparently it got really messy while cooking)

P1010830.jpg

Adding the rest of the veggies

P1010831.jpg

Adding the chicken back in to let it simmer

P1010835.jpg

The finished product

P1010839.jpg

 

To see the recipe in its original format please visit http://sarasnow.com/recipe?action=retrieveRecipeDetailsHTML&recipeID=26&destinationpage=/pg/jsp/community/recipes/recipedetail.jsp

 

Happy Cooking! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

