Crock-pot BBQ Chicken

So I’ve been wanting to use my crockpot more lately and when I saw a recipe for BBQ chicken I knew it would be a hit with Chad. I went to make the recipe today and had the urge to make my own BBQ sauce (which I’ve never done before). When I started this blog I said I wanted to make more homemade items from scratch and this was the perfect opportunity to try my hand at something new. The good thing was I had all the ingredients needed except paprika. I found two different recipes and combined them into my bbq sauce.

The verdict? When it was time for dinner I didn’t tell Chad I made the bbq sauce to see what he would think. Turns out he liked it. He thought it was sweet but thought it didn’t necessarily take like bbq sauce but he said it still tasted good! For the first time making it I’m pleased with the way it turned out.

I think this recipe would be great on a bun as a shredded chicken sandwich or over a bed of rice. We had the bbq chicken with white cheddar shells.

Homemade BBQ Sauce
1-1/2 cups Dark Brown Sugar, packed

1-1/4 cups Ketchup

1/2 cup Red Wine Vinegar

2 tablespoon Worcestershire Sauce

2-1/2 teaspoons Ground stoned Mustard

1 teaspoon Black Pepper

2 squirts of Italian-style salad dressing

2 tbsp of honey

3 tbsp of garlic powder

Directions

Measure and add all ingredients to a large bowl and whisk until the sugar has dissolved and the spices are thoroughly distributed. Serve immediately or cover and store in fridge or freeze!

Place chicken in a crock-pot. Pour bbq sauce over the chicken. I used 5 chicken tenders for this recipe.

BBQ chicken in pictures

Ingredients you will need for this recipe

P1010820.jpg

BBQ Sauce

P1010818.jpg

BBQ chicken in the crockpot about to cook

P1010817.jpg

Finished Product

P1010823.jpg

P1010824.jpg

To see both recipes I combined please visit

http://www.simplyscratch.com/2011/09/homemade-barbecue-sauce.html and/or http://www.mydailymoment.com/recipes/slow-cooked_barbecue_chicken_breasts.php

Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

