Lighten Up: Healthy Chicken Fingers Recipe

I noticed in my bookmark of recipes that I have a lot of crispy chicken tender recipes. The problem with that is a lot of them call for chex cereal or corn flakes as the base for crispiness of the chicken…which I never buy. However, I have been dabbling my hand in homemade chex mix and when I had some left over chex cereal I decided it was time to make one of these crispy chicken tender recipes. I opt’d for a healthy version and its came out wonderful. I did switch out a few of the ingredients like olive oil instead of egg, and chex cereal instead of corn flakes. However, it came out amazing. I highly recommend this recipe. It’s low in calories and is a healthier version of your traditional fried chicken. I made this dish with a side of french fries (not healthy at all) but it won Chad over so I think it will win your not as picky eater over  as well!

Crispy Chicken Fingers Recipe

Makes: 4 servings

Ingredients 
12 ounces skinless, boneless chicken-breast halves
2 tbsp of honey
1 tablespoon honey
1 teaspoon prepared mustard ( I used stone ground pepper)
2 cups corn chex cereal, finely crushed
Dash of black pepper

1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees F. Cut chicken into 3-by-3/4-inch strips. In a shallow dish, combine olive oil, honey, and mustard. In another dish, stir together cornflake crumbs and pepper.

2. Dip chicken strips into the mixture; roll in crumb mixture to coat. Arrange chicken strips on an ungreased baking sheet.

3. Bake about 12 minutes, or until outsides are golden and chicken is no longer pink.

Recipe in Pictures

Before going into the oven

P1010771.jpg

Ready to eat

P1010775.jpg

 

P1010776.jpg

 

To see the recipe in its orginial format visit http://www.fitnessmagazine.com/recipes/quick-recipes/lunch/lighten-up-healthy-chicken-fingers-recipe/

 

Happy Cooking! 🙂

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Lighten Up: Healthy Chicken Fingers Recipe

  1. This is dinner tonight! i’m super excited to try it. It turned out looking just like yours…I am serving mine with your parmesean asperagus since it is a household favorite! Loving your recipes! BBQ chicken is on the menu for tomorrow night! 🙂

Leave a Reply

