Potato-Kale Soup

So I love soup and I typically have my staples soups I make but when I recently purchased Kale I knew I wanted to try something new with it. After much research online I found the potato-kale soup recipe. It was super easy to make but a little time consuming since I had to cut the potatoes so small. I also learned that night the difference between chicken broth and chicken stock. This recipe called for chicken broth however I got my recipes mixed up and used chicken stock instead. The difference between the two is minor and did not alter the taste of the soup so no worries if you accidently pull a Sheena and use the wrong ingredient (which happens far to often with me).   The soup reminded me of the Zuppa Toscana at Olive Garden minus the sausage. However, if you like sausage it would be a great addition to the soup! All in all it’s a keeper and will now be going into my rotation of soups I make. 

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoons of Olive Oil
  • 1/2 onion diced up
  • 2 garlic clove, minced
  • 7 cups of chicken broth (reduced sodium preferred)
  • 4 coarsely chopped peeled Yukon gold potatoes 
  • Dash of salt
  • 6 cups chopped fresh kale (about 3/4 pound)
  • 3 teaspoon of fresh or dried basil basil

Directions: 

  1. Add olive oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add onion; cook 8 minutes or until tender, stirring frequently. Add garlic; cook 30 seconds, stirring constantly. Stir in broth, potato, and salt and  bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer 15 minutes or until potato is tender.
  2. Stir in kale and basil. Cover and simmer 10 minutes or until kale is tender.

 

My recipe does vary from the one I found online so feel free to check that recipe out in its original form at http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/potato-kale-soup-with-gruyre-10000000522150/

 

Recipe in Pictures

Not the most appealing picture but this was once I stirred in the kale 

 

IMG_20111207_201455.jpg

 

First bite of soup which was delish!

IMG_20111207_201601.jpg

Someday I’ll use my really nice camera to take photos of my meals! Until then Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

