Easy Breezy Lasagna!

So I love lasagna and was always intimidated by making it. However, I learned about the oven ready noodles which are one of the best inventions ever! Last night reminded me why I use the oven ready lasagna noodles as opposed to your traditional pre-cook noodles. So I decided when I made our weekly meal plan (which we didn’t follow at ALL this week) that I’d make lasagna. I saw in our newly organized pantry (just needed a brag moment about how organized it is) the no bake noodles.

However, when I went to make it last night I realized I didn’t have enough lasagna noodles to do the no bake so I did the traditional pre-cooking lasagna noodles. What a pain! It’s so time consuming. The recipe was slowed down since cooking the lasagna prior took a while but the rest was a breeze! My favorite part about my recipe is that it’s perfect if your a family of 1 or 2. I had leftovers for today at lunch for both Chad and I and I love this meal more as a left over.

 

Easy Breezy Lasagna  ( I used a 6 by 9 dish)

6 ready for oven or pre- cook lasagna noodles

1/2 a jar of spaghetti sauce

1- 15 oz container of ricotta cheese

1 cup of mozerella cheese

1/2 cup of parmesan cheese

fresh basil

 

Directions:

1.Preheat Oven to 375 degrees

2. Spray a 6 x 9 pan with nonstick spray. Spread a thin layer of spaghetti sauce over the bottom of prepared pan. Top with 2 lasagne noodles, trimming noodles to fit if necessary.

3. Make the ricoatta mixture which for me is one 15 oz container of ricotta, 1/2 cup of mozerella cheese, 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese, fresh basil, pepper, garlic and onion powder, and dry italian seasoning (you could also add fresh onion and garlic instead of the powder)

4. Spread 1/2 of the ricotta mixture over lasagna,  Top with 2 more lasagne noodles, remaining ricotta mixture, Top with the final two lasagne noodles and remaining spaghetti sauce and mozzarella cheese. Cover tightly with foil and bake  30 minutes.

5. Remove from oven. Take foil off and feel free to sprinkle parmesan cheese. Bake additional 10 if it’s a  more minutes. Remove from oven. Allow to rest 10 minutes before serving.

Recipes in pictures:

Ricotta mixture minus the cheese and fresh basil

IMG_20111202_190309.jpg
First layer complete

IMG_20111202_191000.jpg

 

Before going into oven

IMG_20111202_192705.jpg

Finished Product

IMG_20111202_202546.jpg

 

This was a tad messier than usual but still tasted great!

 

Happy Cooking 🙂

Leave a Reply

