A few healthy snacks…

Happy Belated Thanksgiving! I hope you had a wonderful day! Mine was great and low key. I didn’t do much cooking this week due to thanksgiving and not feeling well earlier in the week. I will be posting 2 recipes I made this week probably tomorrow but I wanted to share a few healthy snacks I’ve made. Being pregnant has caused me to eat less healthy than I was before I got pregnant. Kinda unfortunate since diet is everything when pregnant. I’m working on making healthier snacks. One recipe I’m going to share I make all the time and the other is a new recipe which might be my new addiction. I’ll start with the old recipe then go to the new.

Kale Chips:

For those not familiar with Kale it’s an amazing vegetable that is extremely healthy for you. I was never sure how to make Kale prior to ever buying it. One day my co-worker made Kale Chips and I was sold. Kale chips taste just like potato chips but obviously healthier. They are super easy to make and taste great!

Ingredients

Ingredients

  • 1 bunch kale
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon seasoned salt

Directions

  1. Preheat an oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Line a non insulated cookie sheet with parchment paper.
  2. With a knife or kitchen shears carefully remove the leaves from the thick stems and tear into bite size pieces. Wash and thoroughly dry kale with a salad spinner. Drizzle kale with olive oil and sprinkle with seasoning salt.
  3. Bake until the edges brown but are not burnt, 10 to 15 minutes.

I also like to add fresh lime or lemon juice, garlic powder, and red pepper flakes for a little kick. I consider this a Chile limon take on Kale chips.

Recipe in Pictures:

Cut up Kale before going into the oven

IMG_20111113_200138.jpg

Kale out of the oven

IMG_20111113_204042.jpg

This recipe is taken from http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/baked-kale-chips/detail.aspx

 

Baked Parmesan Tomatoes

As I type this I’m realizing a good portion of my meals contain Parmesan cheese. It’s a fine cheese but I don’t typically eat it in the amounts I have been. Must be an interesting craving haha. Anyways, I bought some tomatoes today from the farmers market and wanted to make something with them. I saw this recipe and knew this was the recipe for me. Turns out I was right. When they were done cooking I knew I was in for a treat. My house smells heavenly and I am tempted to make more because I enjoyed them so much. It’s a great appetizer, or side to a meal.

INGREDIENTS

  • 4 tomatoes, halved horizontally
  • 1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 teaspoon chopped fresh oregano
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • Freshly ground pepper, to taste
  • 4 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil

PREPARATION

  1. Preheat oven to 450° F.
  2. Place tomatoes cut-side up on a baking sheet. Top with Parmesan, oregano, salt and pepper. Drizzle with oil and bake until the tomatoes are tender, about 15 minutes.

NUTRITION

Per serving: 91 calories; 6 g fat ( 2 g sat , 4 g mono ); 4 mg cholesterol; 6 g carbohydrates; 3 g protein; 2 gfiber; 375 mg sodium; 363 mg potassium.

Carbohydrate Servings: 1/2

Exchanges: 1 vegetable, 1 fat

Nutrition Note: What you get: Vitamins A & C, potassium, calcium.

Recipe in Pictures

I forgot to snap a picture before they went into the oven but here are the tomatoes after coming out of the oven

IMG_20111126_200744.jpg

This recipe was taken from http://www.eatingwell.com/recipes/baked_parmesan_tomatoes.html

 

Happy Cooking 🙂

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

