Vegetable Fried Rice:

Tonight I tried a new recipe. I love stir fry’s and try to make them as frequently as possible. A few days ago I went through my recipes and found the vegetable fried rice recipe and knew I had to make i1t. I’ve been on a huge rice kick this past week (I guess it’s a weird pregnancy craving).

Earlier in the year Chad became obsessed with hibachi resturants where they make the food in front of you. He then decided in Chad fashion it’d be cheaper to make it at home then to continue going to hibachi restaurants.  He would make his take on steak and pair it with white rice. I decided with this weeks meal plan he should bring back the steak he loves so much and pair it with fried rice. He was for the idea until he realized how slow my prepping was going and ended up eating brown rice instead. So I learned a valuable lesson tonight which I actually learned last week or didn’t really learn. Rule Number 1 for cooking: Make sure you have all the ingredients. On the one hand I did have all the ingredients but on the other the soy sauce was almost empty. I feel like this really altered my recipe and made a super exciting meal just okay.  I also made scrambled eggs for the first time in life. Can you believe it took me 28 years to make scrambled eggs? The recipe is fairly easy to make but does requires about 15 minutes of prep time to cut everything up (or perhaps I was being super slow with my chopping). The recipe made a ton I have left overs for two additional meals which is cool. Tomorrow night I’m going to add chicken to it. While these were the advantages of the meal. The disadvantages were clear for me. It’s not from a hibachi restaurant. If you want that delicious greasy fried rice this isn’t the recipe for you. If you’re looking for a healthier version of fried rice than this recipe is for you. Since I lacked soy sauce I felt like the favor was also lacking which made the entire meal just sorta bland. I had two servings but I was hungry and decided I had to eat regardless. Tomorrow I am going to buy more soy sauce, add chicken and hope for better results. We will see how that turns out for me.

Anyways here is the Vegetable Fried Rice recipe:

Ingredients:

2 cups of cooked brown rice

2 cups of fresh vegetables chopped (I used green bell pepper, carrots, broccoli, and garlic)

1/2 small onion

2 eggs lightly beaten (I actually missed the lightly beaten part of this not sure what difference it would have made)

2 teaspoons olive oil

3 teaspoons low sodium soy sauce (probably not enough for me)

 

Directions:

1. In a large pan, heat oil on medium high heat. Add onion and rice. Stir and cook until onion is soft, about 5 minutes

2. Reduce heat to medium and add vegetable to rice mixture. Cook 2 minutes for frozen vegetables and 5-7 for fresh vegetables.

3. Spread the mixture out to the sides of the pan, leaving space in the middle for the eggs

4. Add the eggs, scramble until cooked firm

5. Mix the eggs with the rice and vegetables, then sprinkle with soy sauce

 

Sorry I don’t have the link available since it’s a printed recipe and the link to the website isn’t on the page. 😦   Recipe in Pictures

 

UPDATE: The fried rice turned out better as a left over…the purchase of soy sauce may have contributed to this as well. The one positive thing about this recipe is it a makes a ton. I had it for 3 meals. Anyways I will be making this again since if anything it will be a good leftover!

Recipe in Pictures:

Right before I added the eggs to the fried rice

IMG_20111115_195553.jpg

 

With the eggs scrambled in

IMG_20111115_200205.jpg

Finished Product!

IMG_20111115_200300.jpg

Leave a Reply

