Chicken Little Italy…the healthy Chicken Parmesan

First off, nothing is more annoying than when you are almost completely done writing a blog/email/anything and it suddenly in thin air disappears. Welcome to my life just now with this blog tonight. Anyways,so here we go again with this blog.  A not so fun fact about me is I love Italian food. Chicken Parmesan is probably my favorite Italian dish. I found the Chicken Little Italy about a year ago when I was really into the Flat Ab Diet. Well let me rephrase that…I was intrigued by the flat belly diet. Did I ever read the book? No. Did I skim it at Barnes and Noble for about a half hour for free? You bet I did. If I remember correctly (and I very well could be wrong) the premise of the diet is to eat certain foods and stay within a certain amount of calories. I don’t believe exercise is required for this diet. That is where I become a skeptic in this diet. I am a firm believer you can’t lose weight without having a healthy diet and exercise regularly. Have you seen the biggest loser? They don’t lose weight while eating tons of doughnuts day in and day out. Anyways, ultimately that is the reason I never bought the flat belly diet book. However, the recipes intrigued me so I looked them up online and found Chicken Little Italy. This is a  healthier replacement for Chicken Parmesan. I love chicken parmesan but I feel like it takes forever to cook in the oven. This recipe has distinct difference from your traditional recipe. One major difference is you are grilling it on the stove (Well I used a griddle so I was grilling it). You also are using olive oil as your base instead of eggs and flour. I always add Italian seasonings, parmesan cheese, garlic powder and pepper to the breadcrumbs for a little extra zing. This recipe I feel like cooks in half the time as your traditional recipe and is a lot more flavorful. I hope you enjoy it as much as we do!

Chicken Little Italy Recipe

Ingredients:

Directions

1.  tablespoon oil in a nonstick skillet over medium heat.
2.While pan is heating, pound chicken to 1/4″ thickness, then sprinkle with bread crumbs, cheese, salt, and pepper, pressing lightly so crumbs stick.
3. Place in pan and saute for 2 to 3 minutes per side. Top with nuked marinara.
I also made spaghetti as a side which differs from the recipe.
Chicken Little Italy in Pictures
Dipping the chicken in olive oil
IMG_20111114_191958.jpg

Breading the chicken

IMG_20111114_192023.jpg

Grilling Chicken

IMG_20111114_193446.jpg

Finished Product

IMG_20111114_194700.jpg

 

Here is the recipe in it’s original format

http://recipes.womenshealthmag.com/Recipe/chicken-little-italy.aspx

 

Happy Cooking! 🙂

Leave a Reply

