Garlic Quinoa with Parmesan cheese

So it’s been a few days. A friend was in town and we ended up eating out but now that life is back to boring I’m back in action with cooking. Today has been a weird day for me in the aspect that I broke out my wedding cake from a year ago. The tradition is to have the top tier when you hit your one year anniversary. However, we completely forgot. Today we broke it out and I had a slice. While it was amazing it was way too much sugar which left me feeling sick to my stomach.. I ended up making a smoothie which made me feel better but I still wasn’t in the mood to cook. However, being pregnant I knew I needed to eat something. I bought quinoa a while ago. It’s one of those things I buy because I know it’s good for you. However, it never sounds appealing to eat or make. I found the garlic quinoa recipe and was pleasantly surprised by the flavor.

For those not familiar with quinoa it’s considered a vegetable but looks more like a grain. It’s very similar to brown rice only it has more protein. It can be used as a rice substitute. It has an interesting taste and if texture is an issue for you then quinoa may not be for you.

The recipe was easy to make. I cut the recipe in half since a little quinoa goes a long way. In the past when I’ve made it I’ve used chicken broth as the base for flavor but this recipe called for vegetable stock. Last weekend was the first time I’ve ever used vegetable stock and it’s my new obsession. I think it has an amazing flavor which is probably why I ended up loving this recipe. It took with prep time about 20 minutes to make. It would go great with chicken but I think it can hold its own by itself…well depending on how hungry you are. Overall, this recipe is one of my new favorite dishes. The vegetable broth, onion, garlic, and Parmesan cheese make the quinoa extremely flavorful. It makes me excited to eat quinoa again!

Garlic Quinoa with Parmesan Cheese (my version)

Ingredients:

1 tbsp olive oil
1/2 small yellow onion, diced small
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 cups vegetable broth
1/2 cup uncooked quinoa
Salt and pepper
1/4 cup Parmesan cheese

Preparation:

In a medium sized pan, sautee the onion and garlic in olive oil over medium-high heat for 3-5 minutes, until onions are just soft. Reduce heat to medium low.
Add the vegetable broth and quinoa. Cover, and allow to simmer until liquid is mostly absorbed and quinoa is cooked, about fifteen minutes.

Remove from heat, and gently mix quinoa to distribute any excess moisture. Season with salt and pepper to taste, and top with Parmesan cheese,

Recipe in pictures:

It’s not necessary but I soaked the quinoa in water for about 5 minutes when I was prepping.

IMG_20111113_195041.jpg

This is after the prep and before the quinoa cooks for 15 minutes

IMG_20111113_195200.jpg

This is after the quinoa cooks for 15 minutes

IMG_20111113_200820.jpg

The final product (I couldn’t wait for the Parmesan cheese to melt)

IMG_20111113_201017.jpg

Here is the original recipe in it’s entirety http://vegetarian.about.com/od/maindishentreerecipes/r/garlicquinoa.htm

3 thoughts on “Garlic Quinoa with Parmesan cheese

Leave a Reply

