Cheesy Chicken and Rotini Casserole

Tonight I decided to make Cheesy Chicken and Rotini Casserole. It’s a simple recipe but also slightly time consuming…especially if you forget one of the main ingredients and have to wait for your husband to bring it home. My intention was to have dinner ready before he got home but I forgot to buy chicken broth which really adds to the flavor. Assuming you have all the ingredients it should only take an hour from prep time to cooking time. This is a recipe I really enjoy making because it makes a ton of leftovers so it prevents me from eating out for lunch. I also think it’s a healthy recipe in the aspect it has lots of vegetables in it. As the pictures will show I do have to make the casserole in half since Chad (my husband) does not ea t any vegetables.  Once I finished making the meal and we ate we both agreed it was good. In the future I will use whole grain pasta instead of white pasta I have been looking for an excuse to use the rest of the white rotini pasta and this was a perfect opportunity. It is rich in fiber at least.  All in all it’s simple and if you have a picky eater like me it’s easy to separate the meal so you don’t have to limit what you put in the casserole.

Here is the recipe

Ingredients: 
3 cups uncooked rotini pasta (9 oz)
2 cups cut-up cooked chicken
1 cup of fresh (which I used) or frozen onions, bell pepper (I used red and green), broccoli, and carrots
1 can (10 3/4 oz) condensed cream of celery soup
1 cup Progresso® chicken broth (from 32-oz carton)
             3 medium green onions, sliced (3 tablespoons)
1 cup shredded Cheddar cheese
Directions:
  • Heat oven to 350°F. Spray 8-inch square pan with cooking spray. Cook and drain pasta as directed on package.
  • In pan, mix pasta, chicken, frozen vegetables, soup and broth. Bake uncovered 35 to 40 minutes or until bubbly around edges.
  • Top with tomatoes. Sprinkle with onions and cheese. Bake uncovered about 3 minutes or until cheese is melted.
My meal in pictures:
Before going into the oven
IMG_20111109_195115.jpg
Coming out of the Oven
IMG_20111109_203139.jpg
Ready to eat
IMG_20111109_203315.jpg
Happy Cooking! 🙂
Leave a Reply

