Home

It’s been forever! Life has been crazy and sadly we were eating out a ton while family was visiting/we had a series of birthday’s and other events which caused us to eat out. Not that life has slowed down but we are now making more of an effort to eat at home. Last night I decided to make a homemade burrito bowl just like chipotle. It sounded good and while it was a smidge time consuming the end result was worth it. I really enjoyed the seasoning on the chicken and anything that has cilantro and lime together is a friend of mine. I will admit it wasn’t as good as a chipotle burrito bowl but for a new meal it was pretty good!

I made my burrito bowl without beans but if you want to add beans to the mix feel free to visit the website I found this recipe from http://iowagirleats.com/2009/09/15/4-step-homemade-chipotle-burrito-bowl/

Homemade Burrito Bowl in 3 steps

1. The Rice

Cook long grain rice according to package directions. I used a cup of whole grain minute rice for time purposes. When done, finish with:

  • Small pat of butter
  • Salt
  • Juice of 1/2 a lime
  • Sprinkle of chopped cilantro

2. The Chicken

Cook two chicken breasts in a skillet seasoned with:

  • Chili Powder
  • Garlic Salt
  • Onion Powder
  • Cumin
  • Oregano

Since the website didn’t give measurements I kinda just threw in a little of each seasoning.

3. The Pico

Whip up this easy Pico De Gallo with:

  • 1 tomato (plus some cherry tomatoes I had on hand)
  • 1 jalapeno
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1/4 small red onion
  • Sprinkle of chopped cilantro
  • S&P
  • Juice of 1/2 lime

This would have been better if I had a red onion alas I didn’t so I had to settle with a yellow onion. I also added a sliver of green bell pepper

Final step add all ingredients togther and enjoy!

Recipe in pictures

Pico de Gallo

IMG_3433.jpg

IMG_3435.jpg

Chicken (not the best picture)

IMG_3436.jpg

Finished product

IMG_3438.jpg

IMG_3439.jpg

Happy Cooking!!!

Leave a Reply

