Home

So asparagus is one of those items that I know is good for you but I have never made it super amazing. I’ll eat it when I buy it but I am never wow’d by it..until now.  This week at work one of my co-workers found this recipe and I knew I had to try it. First off, it’s easy and second of all it is so good! Not good enough to where Chad will start eating asparagus unfortunately but he was willing to try it. It’s so addicting I’m making another batch right now as a snack. If you are an asparagus fan this is a must try!

 

Crispy Parmesan Asparagus Sticks

1 bunch of asparagus (I made just enough to feed me so about 6 spears)

4 tbsp of olive oil

2 tbsp of flour

1/2 cup seasoned breadcrumbs

1/4 cup parmesan cheese

salt and pepper

 

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Lay a wire rack on a baking sheet and coat with non-stick spray (or use parchment paper).

Snap off the tough ends of each asparagus spear. On two separate plates, add the olive oil and the breadcrumbs + flour + cheese. Season the breadcrumb  mixture with salt and pepper if desires. Coat each asparagus spear in olive oil, then lay in the breadcrumb mixture and thoroughly cover. If the breadcrumbs won’t stick, dip back in the olive oil and roll in panko once again. Lay each spear on the wire rack.

Bake at 425 for 15 minutes, or until golden brown and crispy.

 

Recipe in pictures:

Breadcrumb mixture on left and olive oil on the right

IMG_20111202_195024.jpg

 

Asparagus dipped in mixture

IMG_20111202_200538.jpg

 

Final Product

IMG_20111202_203422.jpg

 

So my recipe varies from the website I got it off of. They use egg whites intead of olive oil. Here is the website I got the recipe off of!

http://www.howsweeteats.com/2011/03/crispy-parmesan-asparagus-sticks/

 

Happy Cooking!

One thought on “Crispy Parmesan Asparagus Sticks.

Leave a Reply

